Our Vicar

The Vicar of St. John’s the Baptist is the Reverend Gavin Foster. Gavin was previously Chaplain to the Bishop of Winchester and before that was in parish ministry in the Salisbury Diocese. He is married to Hazel and they have three boys.

Gavin has been vicar since 4th September 2016. The Service Booklet for his installation is available to view and download here Induction Service Booklet.

Our Churchwardens

Our Vicar works closely with the churchwardens to lead and manage the church. The churchwardens are Karen Deacon and Trevor Pritchard.

Karen Deacon

Trevor Pritchard


The Parochial Church Council (PCC) is the governing body of the church. It meets monthly and works closely with the Vicar and churchwardens.

The current members of the PCC are:

Karen Deacon (Churchwarden), Trevor Pritchard (Churchwarden),  Steve Allcock, Chris Bacon, Lynda Barrow, Amanda Bevan, Anne Brooks, Cat Curtis, Nadine Hockin, Sarah James, Fiona Seddon, Dorothy Wood, David Adams (Deanery Synod), Alan Renshaw (Deanery Synod), Bob Swain (Deanery Synod), Alex Thompson (Treasurer)

Leadership Teams

Our ministry and management teams help to organise and run the church. The team leaders are:

Discipleship Team: Adrian Head
Fabric Team: Robin Webb
Hospitality and Welcome Team: Roger Pickard
Mission Enabling Team: (Vacant)
Music Team: (Vacant)
Office Team: Ken Tout
Pastoral Team: Mike Stanley
Prayer Team: (Vacant)
Youth, Children and Families Team: Lewis Jones (from August 2018) *

Several lay, licensed and ordained ministers help to lead our regular service.

* Lewis is married to Sophie and they have one daughter, Kalani, aged one. Previously, Lewis was Children & Youth Co-ordinator at Church of the Good Shepherd, Crookhorn, where he served for four and a half years. He is also a part time web administrator for the Diocese of Portsmouth.